Utah Safety and Emissions Inspections
All vehicles registered in Cache County with model years six years old and greater that have even-numbered model years, must have an emission test in even number years, and vehicles with odd-numbered model years must have an emission test in odd-numbered years. Vehicles with model years 1968 or older do not require an emission test.
In general, Utah State Law requires vehicle safety inspections every 2 years for vehicles less than 8 years old. For vehicles over 8 years old, inspections are required every year. Emissions tests are required every 2 years for vehicles less than 6 years old.
2017 Safety Inspection Requirements
Vehicle Model Year Safety Inspection
- 2017 - 2014 Not required
- 2013 Required in 2017
- 2012 - 2010 Not required
- 2009 Required in 2017
- 2008 Not required
- 2007 and older Required in 2017
2017 Emission Inspection Requirements
Vehicle Model Year Emission Inspection
- 2017 Not required
- 2016 Not required
- 2015 Required in 2016
- 2014 Not required
- 2013 Required in 2016
- 2012 Not required
- 2011 to 1968 Required in 2017
- 1968 and older Not required
Signs To Watch For
If your check engine light is on, your car will not pass inspection. Before doing any testing, any issues involving the check engine light must be addressed. If your check engine light is on, our full service shop can quickly diagnose the problem and repair it for you, before performing the state inspection.
The Master Muffler Brigham City Difference
At Master Muffler Brigham City, we can inspect your vehicle and diagnose any problems with your vehicle. If there are any issues, we can repair them for you. We can also print stickers and update your registration from our shop. So, if you live in Mantua, Nibley, Logan, Tremonton, or anywhere else in Cache Valley: Come to Master Muffler Brigham City for your safety and emissions testing.